Lone Star duo sets up D3CS in Wisconsin

Pat Coleman and Jim Dixon wrap up Day 4 from the 2018 Division III World Series. Names optional, apparently. 

GRAND CHUTE, Wis. - No region has ever won three consecutive Division III baseball national championships.

This year, the bracket makes it possible for us to guarantee the West Region will be the first. Following on the heels of Trinity (Texas) in 2016 and Cal Lutheran in 2017, a West team will win the national title in 2018 as Texas-Tyler and Texas Lutheran will meet in the best-of-three Division III Championship Series. 

For UT-Tyler, it was a day of two-out rallies, while for Texas Lutheran, the big blow came on a big fly in the eighth inning.

Texas-Tyler scored six times with two outs in the fifth inning to erase a Randolph-Macon lead and go on to win 8-6 in the Bracket 1 final. With two out, Blake Maddox's home run to left started the six-run outburst and Blake Wilson's double ended it, giving the Patriots a lead they would never relinquish and ending the Yellow Jackets' season.

In the second game, Tyler Cauley unloaded a long home run to left field off Cody Caballero to lift Texas Lutheran into the D3CS. Concordia-Chicago turned to Mike Formella for the start and he was able to go the first six innings, leaving with the game tied at 4-4. But Cauley's big fly gave the Bulldogs the lead and the defense turned a game-ending 4-6-3 double play to clinch the bracket championship.

The best-of-three series starts Tuesday morning at 11 a.m. CT, with Texas Lutheran the home team for Game 1. Texas-Tyler will be home for Game 2, which follows 30 minutes after Game 1.

If a third game is necessary, it will be played on Wednesday morning, scheduled for 11 a.m. CT as well. 

Helmet bump