Playoff field announced

CNU doing the whole dogpile thing
The Captains of Christopher Newport won the Capital Athletic Conference and hope to carry that momentum into the regionals.
Christopher Newport athletics photo

The NCAA Division III baseball committee has announced the 58 teams that will compete in the 2019 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Four teams will compete in double-elimination play at 13 regional sites and three sites will have two teams which meet in a best-of-five series.

Winners of the 16 regional tournaments will qualify for first super regional round in Division III baseball history, with the teams competing in a best-of-three format. The Division III World Series will be held in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, for the first time. And those super regionals will be indeed, super regional, as every regional is matched up against the nearest possible regional, rather than make use of Division III's 500-mile travel radius and the holiday weekend to create a more diverse bracket.

Ramapo, who we projected in the field, did not make it, and Coe was selected. Coe played just two regionally ranked opponents all season and had a great winning percentage, but was low on our list because nobody on our board played fewer regionally ranked teams. The committee also chose Wooster, where we had projected Hendrix, and Baldwin Wallace, where we had UW-La Crosse. 

The teams were announced via a selection show on Monday, as follows:

at Southern Maine

1. Southern Maine, 2. Oswego State, 3. MIT, 4. New England College
Regions represented: 2.

at Mass-Boston

1. Mass-Boston, 2. Wheaton (Mass.), 3. St. Joseph's (Maine), 4. Baruch
Regions represented: 2.

Southern Maine and Mass-Boston winners meet in super regional.


at Trinity (Conn.)

1. Babson, 2. Trinity (Conn.), 3. Salve Regina, 4. Keystone
Regions represtend: 2.

at Cortland

1. Cortland, 2. Penn State-Harrisburg, 3. Tufts, 4. Alvernia
Regions represented: 3.

Trinity and Cortland winners meet in super regional.


at Chapman

Chapman vs. Whitman

at Texas Lutheran

1. Trinity (Texas), 2. Texas Lutheran, 3. Concordia (Texas), 4. Franklin
Regions represented: 2.

Chapman and Texas Lutheran winners meet in super regional


at Washington U.

1. Washington U., 2. Coe, 3. Aurora, 4. Cornell
Regions represented: 2.

at Birmingham-Southern

Birmingham-Southern vs. LaGrange

Washington U. and Birmingham-Southern winners meet in super regional


at UW-Whitewater

1. Webster, 2. UW-Whitewater, 3. North Central (Ill.), 4. Bethany Lutheran
Regions represented: 2.

at Concordia-Chicago

1. Concordia-Chicago, 2. Baldwin Wallace, 3. St. John's, 4. Buena Vista
Regions represented: 3.

UW-Whitewater and Concordia-Chicago winners meet in super regional


at Wooster

1. Wooster, 2. Case Western Reserve, 3. Otterbein, 4. Rochester
Regions represented: 2.

at Adrian

1. Denison, 2. Heidelberg, 3. Adrian, 4. La Roche
Regions represented: 1.

Wooster and Adrian winners meet in super regional


at Kean

1. Ithaca, 2. Kean, 3. Shenandoah, 4. Westfield State
Regions represented: 4.

at Johns Hopkins

1. TCNJ, 2. Johns Hopkins, 3. Farmingdale State, 4. Susquehanna
Regions represented: 2.

Kean and Johns Hopkins winners meet in super regional


at Salisbury

1. Rowan, 2. Salisbury, 3. Washington & Jefferson, 4. Penn State-Abington
Regions represented: 3.

at Christopher Newport

Christopher Newport vs. Misericordia

Salisbury and Christopher Newport winners meet in super regional