May 13, 2019

No. 25 Ithaca Draws Westfield State in NCAA Regionals, Will Travel to Kean University

More news about: Ithaca


On Monday afternoon, May 13, the NCAA announced its field of 58 teams for the upcoming Division III Baseball Championship, and the committee selected No. 25 Ithaca College as the top seed of the Union, N.J. Regional (Kean University) and will square off with Westfield State (27-14) in its first round game on Friday, May 17.

Ithaca (31-7), the Empire 8 Conference champions for the eighth consecutive season, will be making its 48th all-time appearance in the NCAA Division III Championship. The Bombers swept through last weekend's E8 Tournament in Ithaca with a 5-0 win over Utica to open the championship and then defeated St. John Fisher, 4-0 and 8-5, to secure the title. Ithaca is 126-95 all-time in the NCAA Tournament and has won two national championships – 1980 and 1988.

Host Kean University (29-14) will take on Shenandoah (31-12) in the other first round matchup on Friday.

The winner of this regional will move on to play against the winner of the Johns Hopkins University pod.



No. 1 Ithaca – The Bombers won the Empire 8 Conference title for the eighth straight season
No. 2 Kean – The Cougars earned an at-large bid out of the New Jersey Athletic Conference
No. 3 Shenandoah  – The Hornets claimed their second straight Old Dominion Athletic Conference title
No. 4 Westfield State – The Owls secured their second straight Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference championship

A full recap on the regional will be posted later this week.